Eleventh International Workshop on

Non-Monotonic Reasoning

Lake District, England, May 30 - June 1, 2006

Special session on

Belief Change and Updates

Belief change and nonmonotonic reasoning go hand in hand. Over the years, research in belief change has taken several interesting turns and seen many novel developments. Moreover, it has allowed us to see other areas of endeavour in a new light. As a way of capturing commonsense reasoning, for instance, belief change provides a unique perspective. However, there is still much work to be done, many interesting challenges to be overcome and problems to be explored.

The specialized session on Belief Change is a one-day event intended to bring together researchers interested in the area of belief change, and to discuss current research, results, and problems of a theoretical, foundational or practical nature. In particular, researchers from allied fields are encouraged to submit papers and participate in the session. This session will be a part of the technical program of the Eleventh International Workshop on Non-Monotonic Reasoning (NMR-06), to be held in the Lake District area, UK, immediately following the KR-06 conference. The goal is to promote further development of the theory of belief change as well as connections to other research areas in nonmonotonic reasoning, knowledge representation and reasoning, logics of belief and knowledge, and artificial intelligence.


Authors are invited to submit original papers on all aspects of belief change. The list of topics of interest includes but is not limited to:

We also welcome suggestions for panel discussions.

Session co-chairs

  • Andreas Herzig (Andreas.Herzig@irit.fr)
  • Maurice Pagnucco (morri@cse.unsw.edu.au)
  • Programme committee

  • Alexander Bochman, Holon Academic Institute of Technology, Israel
  • Richard Booth, Macquarie University, Australia
  • John Cantwell, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Samir Chopra, Brooklyn College of CUNY, USA
  • Hans van Ditmarsch, University of Otago, New Zealand
  • Andreas Herzig, Universite Paul Sabatier, France (Co-Chair)
  • Wiebe van der Hoek, University of Liverpool
  • David Makinson, Kings College, UK
  • Thomas Meyer, NICTA, Australia
  • Abhaya Nayak, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Maurice Pagnucco, UNSW, Australia (Co-chair)
  • Odile Papini, University of Toulon, France
  • Pavlos Peppas, University of Patras, Greece
  • Hans Rott, University of Regensburg, Germany
  • Steven Shapiro, University of Leipzig, Germany
  • Renata Wasserman, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil
  • Submission details

    All NMR-06 sessions have the same submission requirements. Submissions are limited to 9 pages using KR paper format. Send a PDF file with the submission to each of the organizers by e-mail.

    Important deadlines

  • Submission of papers: February 17, 2006
  • Notification of acceptance: April 1, 2006
  • Final version (PDF file): May 1, 2006
  • Conference Dates: May 30 - June 1, 2006