Beijing International Symposium on Computational Neuroscience 2009


An intensive high quality symposium on computational neuroscience, on topics including, but not limited to, computational theories and models of vision, audition, olfaction, motor control, neural encoding and decoding, learning and plasticity, memory, neural circuits and networks, attention, decision making, as well as theory or model motivated experiments. One of the aims of this symposium is to encourage communication and interaction between researchers in the regional and international communities of computational neuroscience, and to foster and encourage interests among students and young researchers in this research direction. There will be both oral and poster presentations at the symposium.


July 24-25, 2009


Science Building, room 104, Tsinghua University, Beijing.

Call for participation:

Researchers and students are encouraged to participate in the symposium. Registration is required and spaces are limited, hence please sign up soon. Submission deadline has passed, submissions for poster presentation may still be considered provided that space is still available. (If you would like to present your work in this symposium, please submit your work as soon as possible and before June 20th to the symposium organizer (Li Zhaoping Each submission should include author information, title, and a one page abstract. Supplementary materials (e.g., papers, webpages) maybe included although not necessary. The submissions will be considered by a symposium committee for a limited number of oral and poster presentations.) Limited travel funds are available to help students and young researchers to participate in the symposium. Preference will be given to those who present their work in the symposium. Please contact the symposium organizer (Li Zhaoping, ) to apply for travel assistance if needed.


Registration is free, but is required to participate in the symposium. Space is limited hence please sign up with the symposium secretary (Ms. Zhou, ) by email as soon as possible. Please give your name, educational background, research area/topic, contact details, and affiliation (and webpage if available) for registration. There will be an 150 yuan fee to attend the symposium banquet.


Speakers include (in alphabetical order)

Peter Dayan (University College London, UK),

Tomoki Fukai (RIKEN, Japan),

Jean-Pierre Nadal (Ecole Normale Superieure, France.),

Ning Qian (Columbia University, US)

Misha Tsodyks (Weizmann Institute, Israel)

Si Wu (Institute of Neuroscience, China)

Li Zhaoping (University College London, UK),


click here for the schedule of the symposium and its updates.


Typically, if you are not a Chinese passport holder, you will need a visa to enter China. (However, No visa is required for ordinary passport holders from Singapore ,Brunei and Japan to visit China for up to 15 days for business, sightseeing, visiting relatives and friends or transit). If it is necessary, please contact the symposium secretary for an invitation letter and hotel reservation certificate for this purpose. The deadline for on campus hotel reservation through our help has passed, so you will have to arrange your own lodging if necessary. Limited travel funds are available to assist young students and researchers. Preference will be given to those presenting in the symposium.

Click here for a word file with information about traveling in Beijing and to Tsinghua University

If you can read Chinese, Click here for a word file with information about additional local lodging choices.

Click here for a webpage of an international youth hostel across the street from the south gate of Tsinghua University.

Click here for a file with maps of Tsinghua University, directions to campus, Chinese instructions to the taxi driver to come to the symposium hotel.


Symposium organizer: Li Zhaoping, email:, symposium secretary: Ms. Li Zhou, email:


Tsinghua University Medical school, Tsinghua University Institute for Advanced Study, Tsinghua University Zhou Pei-yuan Center for Applied Math, Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences.