Universiteit Twente

Institute Name: Universiteit Twente, Department of Computer Science

Description: The department of Computer Science of the University of Twente is the largest in the Netherlands. It currently employs about 180 permanent and temporal staff members. About 800 students are currently enrolled pursuing a Master of Engineering degree in Computer Science or Business Information Technology. The department annually awards about 10 PhD degrees. The research groups of the department are permanently involved in various national and European research projects, funded by the Netherlands Research Council, Esprit, HCM, ACTS, and Telematics Engineering.

The mission of the Chair of Information Systems is to to investigate design methods and techniques of information systems and to teach these techniques to students. We take a broad view of information systems: They include all IT systems that support or execute business processes. This includes classical database applications as well as workflow, groupware and ERP systems. The current trend in these systems is towards cross-organizational applications, providing support for virtual organizations and electronic commerce. Design methods and techniques studied for these systems fall apart in two groups : Methods and techniques for specifying requirements and methods and techniques for specifying architectures of these systems. We have a number of projects in management, systems and techniques. Current research focuses on integration and formalization of specification methods like the UML, and on high-level architectures and requirements for group support systems. The group currently consists of nine researchers and there are openings for Ph.D. students.

Researchers associated with the project:

Prof. Dr. Roel Wieringa

Brief CVs of Key Researchers:

Name: Prof. Dr. R.J. Wieringa

Nationality: Dutch

Academic Qualifcations & Experience: Prof. Dr. Roel Wieringa is full professor of information systems at the University of Twente. His research interests are the integration of formal and informal specification and design techniques. This includes integration of structured and object-oriented techniques for software specification, techniques for requirements engineering and architectural design and the formalization of some of these techniques using various logics, including dynamic, temporal and deontic logic. He authored a book on Requirements Engineering, edited several other books and published over 50 papers on the integration of formal and informal techniques. He has been involved in many national and international research projects. He took part in the organization of the DEON conferences, the Iscore'94 Workshop and the CAiSE'94 conference.

Selected Publications:

R.J. Wieringa (1998), A Survey of Structured and Object-Oriented Software Specification Methods and Techniques, ACM Computing Surveys, December 1998, pp. 459-527, 30(4)

R.J. Wieringa (1998), Postmodern Software Design with {NYAM}: Not Yet Another Method, pp.69-94, Lecture Notes in Computer Science 1526, M. Broy and B. Rumpe (eds.), Requirements Targeting Software and Systems Engineering, Springer Verlag

R.J. Wieringa (1999), Formalizing the {UML} in a Systems Engineering Approach, Behavioral Specifications of Businesses and Systems, Kluwer, H. Kilov and B. Rumpe and I. Simmonds (eds.)

P.W.P.J. Grefen and R.J. Wieringa (1998), Subsystem design guidelines for extensible general-purpose software, International Software Architecture Workshop, pp.49-52, ACM Press, New York City, NY, USA, J.N. Magee and D.E. Perry (eds.)

G. Reggio and R.J. Wieringa (1999), Thirty one problems in the semantics of UML 1.3 dynamics, R. France and J.-M. Bruel and B. Henderson-Sellers and A. Moreira and B. Rumpe (eds.), OOPSLA 99 Workshop on Rigorous Modeling and Analysis with the UML: Challenges and Limitations

Contact Details:

Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. R.J. Wieringa

Address:Department of Computer Science, Universiteit Twente Drienerlolaan, P.O Box 217 Enschede, NL-7500 AE, THE NETHERLANDS

Telephone number: + 31 53 489 4189

Telefax number: + 31 53 489 2927


List of Members

Last up-date: 29 November 1999